In an attempt to boost activity I’ve tried to answer a few questions in this, and similar communities. Looking for an old comment, I found out that a bunch of posts I’d answered are now *Permanently Deleted*, and what’s that about? If they’re LLM slop there’s enough of it I’d rather just block the community so as to not waste any time.
That just means OP deleted their post. This can happen for many reasons, but the most common is they get embarrassed at the replies, decide they don’t want it on their post history, or they think the downvotes mean something, like on Reddit
Or get sick of the avalanche of replies in their inbox, since you can’t turn off notifications for responses to a post or comment unlike on reddit. The only way to make it stop is to delete whatever it was.
Also I’m pretty sure by default if a user deletes their Lemmy account most clients also automatically delete all of their posts and comments. If a user gets fed up with us or decides the Fediverse is not for them, when they take their ball and go home that’s really what happens.
It can also mean that a mod removed the post. There was a dust-up in one of the self hosting communities a while back, when people were complaining about users deleting their “I’m having a weird issue with this setup, any tips” types of posts after getting answers. People were even talking about rules to ban repeat offenders.
Turns out, a mod was deleting the posts and citing a “must be about self hosting” rule to say that they should be posted in a tech support community instead. But since the mod wasn’t active 24/7, the posts were often deleted after they had already been answered.
The reason I remember it is because the whole thing ended with that mod throwing a tantrum, promoting some random users to mods with an “if it’s so easy to moderate, you fuckin do it then” message, and deleting their account.